2016 Debut / New Author Hop Giveaway

debut-author-hop

 

Hey guys!  I am so excited to invite you guys to be a part of Heather & Horses next Blog Hop Giveaway!  We’re starting off the summer with a big bang by participating in the “2016 Debut / New Author Hop” Giveaway blog hop hosted by BookHounds.  Be sure to head on over to their blog to see what great book posts they have and participate in some other giveaways, blog hops, and finding new authors !

This giveaway blog hop is fun because it’s all about one of my favorite horse/cowboy books and it’s an author that I am blessed to call a friend! Carly Kade is a fabulous author who is new to the published book scene and I have to say, her foray into the literary world has been an absolute splash!  I have actually read and reviewed In The Reins and if you’d like to see what I thought, please click on through to my review! You guys are lucky because I have a guest post from our fabulous author here and I have to say, its fabulous! Let’s get right to it!

27282624

Without further ado, here is our guest post from debut author Carly Kade!

McKennon Kelly’s Cowboy Songs

Guest Post by Carly Kade, Author of In The Reins

One of my favorite questions from my recent Heather and Horses In The Reins author interview was “Who was my inspiration for McKennon Kelly?” so I couldn’t wait to expand on that very interview question for Heather and Horses Book Review readers when I was asked to contribute with a guest post.

I still remember the journal entry that started my journey writing In The Reins. McKennon Kelly came to me (like lightning) in the form of a poem. I vividly remember the day I furiously scrawled him in my journal. It felt otherworldly and I didn’t want to miss a thing, a thought, a moment of his inception. Thank heaven that I always keep a journal with me. That poem ended up being the intro to the book. Seeing it in print in the opening pages of In The Reins makes my spurs jingle.

carly kade picture for guest post

I love to listen to music when I write … all kinds of music … what I listen to depends on my mood.  Some days it’s classical, sometimes it’s a movie soundtrack, other days it’s jazz or classic rock, and a lot of the time it was country when I was writing In The Reins.  It got me thinking about what a playlist for a Romeo in Wranglers with a secret and a special way with horses might sound like so I went ahead and made one!

But, before you tune into his songs, you’ll have to meet McKennon Kelly (just in case you haven’t yet) in this short but sweet intro video!

Now that you’ve gotten up close and personal with McKennon Kelly, my handsome cowboy creation from In The Reins.  Here are 5 of my favorite cowboy songs from McKennon’s playlist.  Happy Listening!

  1. ‘Traveler’ by Chris Stapleton  
  1. ‘Cowboys And Angels’ by Dustin Lynch
  1. ‘Backroad Song’ by Granger Smith
  2. ‘Die A Happy Man’ by Thomas Rhett
  1. Quite Like You’ by Shane Smith & The Saints

McKennon Kelly comes from the part of me that is in love with love.  As I turned my words into a man, I took the best from the ones I once knew (and those I still know), the ones I’ve read about in my favorite books, all the ones I’ve imagined, and mixed those qualities with all the things I wish men could be then sprinkled in a little of what I imagined a cowboy who can make the eight on the back of a raging bull would be like.

McKennon is the best little pieces of everything and everyone I’ve experienced in life.  My heart was a flutter as I created him.  I am proud of McKennon Kelly.  I hope he sparks a smile across readers’ lips as they turn the pages of In The Reins.  He certainly makes me smile as I continue to write his story.

Want more?  Listen to all of McKennon’s tunes! Here’s —–> McKennon’s Playlist

If you enjoyed the music featured in this blog post be sure to canter over to my YouTube channel and visit the book’s unofficial soundtrack.  The songs compiled in the “Songs that Inspired In The Reins” playlist were my close companions while writing McKennon and Devon’s story.

I love sharing updates with my readers!  Thank you to Jessa for this opportunity to share more about McKennon Kelly in this guest blog post.  I am so excited about the journey this series is taking me on!  As McKennon and Devon’s story continues, I will be sharing sneak peeks, updates and new release info on my blog for readers that can’t wait to find out what happens next for the handsome cowboy and his wannabe cowgirl.

Feeling Social?  Come join the herd and connect with me on FacebookInstagramYouTube or Twitter.

-Carly Kade

 

The prize is an autographed, paperback copy of In The Reins for my US readers or an ebook copy of In The Reins from Amazon for my international readers! The winner will be announced here, on Heather & Horses, and they will have 3 days to claim their prize.  They will need to send an email to throughtehletterbox@yahoo.com complete with their name, address, and chosen book.

Best of LUCK!

 

Enter this Rafflecopter giveaway!

Giveaway rules:
Ends  6.20.2016
Open only to those who can legally enter
Winning entry will be verified prior awarding of prize.
No purchase necessary.
You must be 13 or older to enter .
The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed, so check your spam folder, and will have 72 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen.
YOU MUST CHECK BACK TO SEE IF YOU HAVE WON.
Please email me at throughtehletterbox@yahoo.com for any questions/confirm your prize.  The email link may or may not work for every browser, so be sure to copy & paste the email address into your message. 
This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified.
Giveaway was organized by BookHounds and sponsored by me.

Thank you guys so much for stopping by my blog!  Be sure to head on over to the other blogs on the linky list and also be sure to visit our host, BookHounds!!

Best of Luck!

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 thoughts on “2016 Debut / New Author Hop Giveaway

  1. When I was real young Roy Rogers was my favorite fictional cowboy, but I think I have grew out of that so McKennen sounds pretty good!!!!

    Judy Cox

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

