Book Review: Slayed on the Slopes- Kate E. Dyer-Seeley

slayed on the slopes

Slayed on the Slopes (Pacific Northwest #2)

Kate E. Dyer-Seeley

Pages: 304

Genre: Mystery, Series, Fiction

goodreads_icon_50x50-f54c5328b635587668f69b12703b6b15   Amazon Icon Squared

Pacific Northwest Series

 

 

Synopsis:

After talking her way into a job writing for Portland’s Northwest Extreme magazine, Meg Reed may now really be in over her head. Actually, about 8,000 feet over her head. . .

She’s at Mount Hood’s remote Silcox Hut, covering the the seriously hardcore Ridge Rangers– Oregon’s elite high-altitude rescue team–during their four-day winter training. Sure, Meg beefed up her outdoor skills over the summer . . . but she’s still hoping to cover the event with some hot chocolate by the cheery fireplace. Then, during a sudden blizzard, she swears she hears gunshots. No one stranded in the hut believes her . . . until self-absorbed Ridge Ranger Ben Rogers is found outside in a pool of frozen blood. Meg’s now got to find this killer quickly . . . before cabin fever does them all in!

My Review:

** I received this Ebook for free in exchange for an honest review. This did not influence my review at all. **

I have to say that I am totally and utterly one of Meg’s biggest fans. I love how she attacks her adventures with a bit of hesitant conviction, even though she knows that she’s way out of her element, and stands by her beliefs and true personality even when other characters try to convince her otherwise. I think that’s one reason I like Matt and Jill so much. She’s a strong female lead and she has her own set of fails and blunders and I’m always guaranteed at least a few laughs before I’m halfway through the book.

Things were a little bit more dangerous this time around and I was actually worried for Meg and it seemed like she was finding herself in more dangerous positions than last time. I enjoyed reading about her investigative efforts to really get a great story for Greg about the Ridge Rangers.

I am really pulling for Meg and Matt to end up together. I think they’d make a really great couple and EVERYTIME I read a scene with them, I hope Meg just lets him know how she feels! Ugh! Lol. I have a feeling we’re close, but I’ve been wrong before. I like how Matt has a bit more in this story having more information about Pops’ murder and he’s a bit more involved this time. I’m intrigued about the direction the murder investigation will go and I can wait to find out.

This is a great book from a neat series and I really love all the characters. I have this book 5 magical stars.

 

My review for book 1, Scene of the Climb, is here.

Be on the lookout for the rest of this great series on the blog!

 

Happy page turning!

-Jessa

Leave a Reply

