The Fountain – Suzy Vadori

 

the fountain

Title: The Fountain

Author: Suzy Vadori

Pages: 206

Genre: Young Adult

Amazon Icon Squaredgoodreads_icon_50x50-f54c5328b635587668f69b12703b6b15

Synopsis:

Careful what you wish for. It just might come true.

In the forbidden West Woods, Ava stumbles on the secret fountain that has granted wishes to St. Augustus students for generations. Unknowingly, she watches the coin she tosses disappear and with it the world around her as she knows it.

In a quest to undo the damage she’s done, she and alumni kid Ethan break every campus rule unravelling a tangled web of history. Ava discovers that what’s right isn’t always clear and finds herself torn between a love she’s always known and one she has yet to explore.

My Review:

** I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This did not alter my review in any way.**

Throwing coins into wishing wells and fountains is something everyone has heard of and most likely participated in themselves. Have you ever thought of what would happen if your wish came true immediately? What sort of repercussions would arise from that? Would that wish really be what you wanted?

The Fountain takes all of that into consideration and more from the very first page. Ava is an excellent swimmer who has transferred from her public high school in San Francisco to a private school both of her parents went to. From the very first day, Ava has a run in with the resident ‘mean girl’ Courtney and things start to get rough for Ava. On her way to her grandmother’s house, through the woods, Ava comes across a stone fountain and she can’t help but toss a coin in and make a wish. That St Agustus had never heard of Courtney and her family.

The story becomes quite the attention-getter from that point on and I couldn’t put it down! I loved the idea behind the book and I loved how the author went about writing the storyline and plot and developing the characters. I enjoyed Ethan’s character and I really liked where the story ended up. I was also a fan of Jules, but did not like Lucas as much. I wish the chapters had been a bit longer. I was prepared for pages and pages within each chapter, but was still happily satisfied as I kept reading. I was a bit surprised to see the end of the book before I was ready for it to end. It seemed like it came at the moment where the plot came to the apex of the story. I was wanting it to continue! I hope to hear more from this author!

I gave this book 3.5 magical stars!

Happy page turning!

Jessa

Leave a Reply

